The Bridge To Heaven On Earth.

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris
The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
July 13, 2013
by Jerry Alatalo

“It is a beautiful day. Perhaps we can go for a walk to enjoy the sights of the natural world, get a little exercise, talk about things, and see what we will see. What do you think? I am glad you and I can take a walk today. It will do us some good.”

The two left the house and began their walk.

“You know we should take these walks more often. You know, we’re not getting any younger and walking is good exercise which is easy on the knees. A lot of joggers end up with knee problems.”

“Yeh, I’ve been thinking on the same lines about taking better care of my body. I haven’t even been doing any simple stretching lately.”

“There are a lot of people who buy those machines that you can walk on… treadmills. They’re alright I guess. People can listen to their music, watch television and there is privacy.”

“I don’t know. It seems like a waste of money when there is nothing but going out the door to walking in your neighborhood. You can breathe some fresh air, take in the sounds of birds and children. Sometimes, when I used to walk regularly years ago, I would end up talking with people from the neighborhood who were also out walking at the same time.”

“The drawback of the treadmill is that during that time of exercise you miss out on the experience of going outside like sights and sounds and talks with neighbors like you said.”

“Oh well, to each his own.”

“Boy that’s something going on over there in Egypt, huh? Brazil has people on a general strike going on now. There certainly never is a dull day in this life. It seems like there is always something going on.”

“Yeh, it’s always something. I don’t really watch the news much anymore. I stopped buying newspapers years ago. The internet has some interesting stuff on it. I mean, if you go to YouTube the information there is just tremendous. I like listening to interviews and learning about what is going on in the world.”

“How do you discern whether the information you are receiving is true? I have listened to many interviews as well, and some of the stuff these people talk about is pretty far-fetched.”

“Since I rarely watch television anymore I spend that time on the internet. I’ll watch a good movie or concerts or the Tigers game now and then. Just for a change of pace. But to answer your question, it seems that after a while you get a sense when there is something of value that the person is talking about.”

“Yeh, I’ve found that as well. You can almost tell by the tone of voice whether to continue listening or not.”

“Have you come across any of those men and women who talk about there being great changes going on around the planet? They talk about a spiritual evolution or something going on. I’ve listened to a few interviews just out of curiosity and some are from people with doctorate degrees and very educated. It is interesting to compare what they are talking about and actual events reported on the news.”

“What were they talking about?”

“Well, let’s see. I’m trying to remember what the one woman was talking about. She thought that humanity was on the verge of some type of spiritual breakthrough. She gave credit to the world wide web for increasing the communication of people all over the world and believed that people are coming together in some type of spiritual way.”

“I suppose that is a good thing. I don’t think it will make much of a difference though. There’s nothing we can do to change things for the better. Nothing is going to change; not in our lifetime.”

“I don’t know about that. I’ve been thinking about the possibility of creating a heaven on earth.”

“Really. Maybe you need to improve your power of discernment. We’ve been friends for many years but heaven on earth? C’mon brother, get real man.”

“I understand where you’re coming from but after giving the idea some thought I came to the point where I asked ‘Why not?’ I mean, humanity has created everything on Earth up to this point. All the wars, suffering, greed, poverty has come from human actions. Who is to say that humanity cannot decide to take actions which results in the end of wars and violence, greed and all the rest? It seemed that it was simple logic.”

“We are good friends and I am open-minded. Elaborate…”

“What would be needed to create a heaven on earth is for every man, woman and child on Earth to know that they were unconditionally loved by the Creator or God or Allah or Source. At this point in human history virtually everyone knows the problems to be dealt with by humanity. The solutions will be found in unconditional love, forgiveness and the understanding that all life, all things are one.”

“I remember an Indian guy, some type of chief, saying, ‘When we harm others we are only harming ourselves.’ Maybe he was talking about what you just said.”

“Yes, I believe that. Another woman described the spiritual evolution of humanity as the combination of many millions of human beings making the conscious decision to cross the bridge to heaven on Earth. This bridge she described as a place that is literally in the hearts of every human being. She said that the way the bridge is crossed  for a person is found when that person comes to understand that God, or Allah, or Great Spirit, or whatever your term, is present in all people, all animals and all things. At that point the person has reached a new level of awareness which changes everything. From that point the person finds it impossible to see any person, sentient being or thing as separate. He or she understands unity consciousness or oneness. He or she will then choose to love at every single turn for the rest of their life.”

“Man, that is some heavy-duty stuff you are talking about… It sounds good, though. You know I’ve always had a kind of feeling like what you just said. It’s the first time anyone has put that feeling into words. We’ve talked about love in the family and between friends, but the idea of the entire human race loving one another is totally new… I like it.”

“Yes, me too. I have been thinking about what I can do to somehow help bring this “crossing the bridge” idea into reality for humanity. What is this up here? Looks like some kind of construction by the river.”

“Let’s take a look-see.”

The two friends walked on and found a sign in front of a newly created bridge.

The sign read, “The Bridge To Heaven On Earth.”

The friends slowly turned to look each other in the eyes.

“What do you say?”

“Let’s go.”

****

Leave a Reply

